C++ motivational thread

There will never be a good time to get back to it, so might as well do it anyway. The book I’m using is Programming Principles and Practice Using C++, second edition. I had last left off just before Ch. 12 - A Display Model, which seems like forever ago. The first few chapters are essentially reading. Hopefully in a month or two I can be back to where I left off.

#include "std_lib_facilities.h"

int main()
{
	cout << "Hello again, world!\n";
	return 0;
}

Arbitrary internet pic

Good luck! If you like you can shoot any questions my way! I’m no expert but know my way around the beast and know how not to anger it for the most part.

I definitely don’t know all of the language, even Stroustrup says he doesn’t these days but the percentages are different. :slight_smile:

Thanks! I’ll likely take you up on that. I’ll be posting any semi-interesting or better exercises in here, or spinoff ideas of them.

The book that I’m restarting with, Programming Principles and Practice Using C++ - Second Edition, uses C++11 and C++14. I know that C++ versions have been moving fast (C++20 is current lastest, and C++23 is in the works). Aside from new features being added in newer versions, I’m wondering how much is changing across versions for syntax and constructs. It seems that reading other people’s C++ could get pretty hairy, given that there are so many versions.

C++11 was the major update that introduced a bunch of new stuff so you are okay with that book in terms of it being “Modern C++”. C++20 was another biggie, but I’ve kind of paused at C++17.

It’s a big language and standard library (STL). C++ thought leaders are on a mission to teach Modern C++ to beginners instead of the C constructs that you can use in C++ (most valid C is valid C++ up to a point). But at some point somebody is going to bump into libraries and code written in the traditional style and be lost so it’s kind of two languages.

Example:

// C style
#define SIZE 42