Personal experience with covid

When I got covid a while back, I think there were multiple factors at play in how I got it. I had been eating like crap for a couple of months, including fast food and sugary drinks, which is not my norm. I usually catch flack for not eating birthday cake, for example. One piece won’t hurt. Me: Nah, I’m good. And summer rolled around, which is upper 90’s F to 110F here, working in a very hot shop, where we didn’t have good airflow. So we decided to start really early in the morning to try and beat the heat. It took a while to adjust to the hours, and I was not getting enough sleep. Not getting enough sleep, I would come home from work and be lazy, not getting outdoors in sunlight daily, which was my previous norm, being outside most of the day every day during non-work hours (year round). Also during covid I had taken to doing a similar thing to using a neti pot, rinsing my mouth and nose often by cupping water in my hands and pulling it in and passing it through my nasal passages and mouth. I did this all through covid until I changed jobs but got too busy at my current job and that broke the habit. Also at my old job, I spent a lot of time walking every day. Tons of walking. I never got sick previously while working in the thick of covid patients. But my diet went to shit, sleep went to shit, getting outdoors went to shit, exercise went to shit, and the precautionary rinsing went to shit.

Yeah, you are what you eat. I exercise and go out every single day, year around. It’s something I could do even when the Covid fear and panic was high and there were no vaccinations yet. Pretty easy here in California where the weather is great year around. Haven’t caught Covid yet.

Imagine how much healthier the world would be if in 2020 the message that obese people had to lose weight and exercise to protect themselves and others was pushed instead of the $$$ making panacea.